The Confederations Cup is a football tournament for national teams organized by the International Federation of Association Football (FIFA). It is held every four years, in the year prior to each upcoming World Cup.

The country hosting the World Cup automatically qualifies for the Confederations Cup and must also act as host for this tournament. The Confederations Cup is considered to be a ‘dress-rehearsal’ for the host nation in particular, to gain experience with hosting and participating in a highly competitive international championship.
The Confederations Cup is also used to evaluate whether the various venues, stadiums and locations to be used for the upcoming World Cup meet the required standards.

The host country, the previous World Cup winners and six other national teams participate in the Confederations Cup. These six are composed of the winning nations from the various continental championships organized by FIFA-approved regional football associations. These regional tournaments are as follows:

  • Asia – The Asia Cup
  • Africa – The Africa Cup of Nations
  • Cup of Nations South America
  • Copa América North America
  • The Gold Cup Oceania
  • The Nations Cup Europe – European Championship

Contact Mirra Sportevents for further information or call us +31534753020.